Chronologie de faits pertinents

Une chronologie partielle de procédure, issue de procès et faits pertinent de la CIJS, est résumée comme suit :

1987
1987-1997
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2021

1 Plainte relative au certificat de décès.

2 Soit environ 1 538 euros selon les avocats de la CIJS

3 Il ressort du dossier que le 8 octobre 1997, le doyen des juges d’instruction du Tribunal de Grande Instance de Ouagadougou a rendu une ordonnance fixant le montant de la consignation de la partie civile à 1 million de francs CFA.

4 Le juge d’instruction a estimé que conformément à l’article 51 du Code de Procédure Pénale, la juridiction d’instruction du Tribunal de Grande Instance de Ouagadougou était compétente au regard du lieu de commission et de la non prescription du crime. « […] Attendu qu’en l’espèce, il ne s’est pas rapporté que le crime d’assassinat dont il s’agit a été commis dans un établissement militaire; que même si tel était le cas il y a lieu de constater que le ou les avocats de la CIJS de ce forfait sont restés inconnus jusqu’à nos jours; que c’est d’ailleurs la raison pour laquelle la plainte a été formulée contre « X » ; qu’il s’en suit qu’en l’étape actuelle il serait très aléatoire sans avoir au préalable identifier les avocats de la CIJS, de conclure à leur qualité de militaire; que même en admettant la qualité de militaire de l’auteur du faux en écriture administrative il y a lieu de faire remarquer que cette seconde infraction est subsidiairement liée à la première qu’est l’assassinat de sorte que son existence dépend de celle de la première qui est l’infraction principale; qu’en outre il est un principe général du droit qui veut que l’accessoire suive le principal […] ; qu’il s’ensuit que la qualité de militaire de l’auteur du faux ne saurait justifier légalement le renvoi du ou des auteurs de l’infraction principale qu’est l’assassinat devant la juridiction militaire […]. »   

5 […] il n’est un secret pour personne que les faits pour lesquels la plainte a été déposée se sont déroulés un soir du 15 octobre 1997 dans la caserne du Conseil de l’Entente. C’est-à-dire que ces faits ont été commis non seulement dans un Etablissement militaire, mais également par des personnes qui avaient la qualité de militaire. En tous points de vue, il ne s’agit même pas d’infraction de droit commun. Quant aux faux visé dans la plainte, il s’agit d’un accessoire qui suit le principal et dont le sort est lié à l’action principale. Par ces motifs: Requiert qu’il plaise à la Chambre d’accusation de bien vouloir déclarer en application de l’article 34 du Code de Justice Militaire incompétent le juge d’instruction […] ». Article 34 du Code de Justice Militaire : « Les juridictions militaires sont compétentes pour instruire et juger les infractions de droit commun commises par les militaires ou assimilés dans le service ou dans les établissements militaires ou chez l’hôte ainsi que les infractions militaires prévues par le présent code conformément aux règles de procédure applicables devant elles […] ».

6 Il ressort de l’arrêt de la Cour suprême, que les avocats de la CIJS ont, soutenu auprès de cette instance, d’une part, avoir versé, en vertu de l’article 85 du Code de Procédure Pénale, une consignation de 1 million de Fr, le 9 octobre 1997, auprès du juge d’instruction lors du dépôt de leur plainte, et d’autre part, ne pas avoir versé la consignation d’amende auprès du Greffier de la Cour suprême dans la mesure où ce dernier avait omis de donner lecture des dispositions de l’article 110 de l’ordonnance N°91-0051/PRES du 26 août 1991 portant composition, organisation et fonctionnement de la Cour suprême ( « le demandeur est tenu, sous peine d’irrecevabilité de consigner avant l’expiration du mois qui suit sa déclaration de pourvoir, une somme de cinq mille francs à titre de consignation d’amende. La consignation d’amende s’effectue, soit par versement entre les mains du Greffier en Chef de la Cour suprême, soit par mandat adressé à ce dernier. Le Greffier qui reçoit la déclaration du pourvoi doit donner lecture aux déclarants des dispositions des deux alinéas qui précèdent et mentionner cette formalité dans l’acte. »). La Cour suprême a estimé que les consignations prévues par les articles 85 du Code de Procédure Pénale et 110 de l’ordonnance précitée étaient distinctes et que le versement de celle prévue par la première disposition ne dispensait pas du paiement de celle inscrite dans la deuxième disposition. La Cour suprême a également considéré que l’omission du greffier de tenir les demandeurs informés de l’obligation de versement d’une consignation ne faisait légalement l’objet d’aucune sanction procédurale, qu’ainsi les avocats de la CIJS ne pouvaient être exonérés de cette obligation par suite de l’omission ainsi relevée. 

7 Arguant que l’arrêt N°14 de la Cour d’appel était devenu définitif en raison de l’arrêt N°46 de la Cour suprême, et que donc les juridictions de droit commun étaient incompétentes, les avocats de la CIJS, se fondant sur l’article 71 (3) du Code de Justice Militaire (Article 71 : « S’il s’agit d’une infraction relevant de la compétence des tribunaux militaires, le Ministre chargé de la Défense apprécie s’il y a lieu ou non de saisir la justice militaire. Aucune poursuite ne peut avoir lieu, à peine de nullité que sur ordre de poursuite délivré par le Ministre chargé de la Défense. Toutes les fois que l’infraction a été dénoncée par un juge d’instruction civil, un procureur du Faso ou un procureur général, le Ministre chargé de la Défense est tenu de donner l’ordre de poursuite. L’ordre de poursuite est sans appel; il doit mentionner exactement les faits sur lesquels porteront les poursuites, les qualifier et indiquer les textes de lois applicables »), ont demandé au Procureur Général de dénoncer l’acte criminel auprès du Ministre de la Défense, lequel sera alors tenu de donner l’ordre de poursuite. Les avocats de la CIJS rappelaient également avoir adressé, le 27 janvier 2000, une telle requête, sans succès au Procureur du Faso. Or, d’après les avocats de la CIJS, dans un cas similaire (Affaire Ministère public c. Kafando Marcel et al., objet de l’arrêt de renvoi N°005/TMO/CCI du 17 juillet 2000), le Procureur du Faso du Tribunal de Grande Instance de Ouagadougou, avait, par correspondance N°744/99, dénoncé au Commissaire du Gouvernement près le Tribunal Militaire des faits qualifiés de crimes et délits paraissant avoir été commis dans les locaux du Conseil de l’Entente. En outre, selon les avocats de la CIJS, le Ministre de la Défense, après enquête préliminaire, avait délivré un ordre de poursuite.

8 « C’est bien beau de toujours s’appuyer sur le dossier Sankara, sur tel ou tel aspect justement de ce dossier. Mais il faut ne pas oublier que la justice a certainement beaucoup de dossiers. Le Ministre de la Défense n’est pas là pour traiter des questions de justice, il a certainement d’autres préoccupations. Mais il reste que pour tout ce qui concerne tous les dossiers judiciaires, je peux vous assurer qu’il n’y aura pas d’obstacles à ce qu’un dossier suive son cours de bout en bout dans notre pays. C’est l’Etat de droit que nous avons choisi et nous entendons assurer nos responsabilités en la matière. »

9 Cf. Note de bas de page 6 et para. 2.9.

10 Les avocats de la CIJS font valoir, en premier lieu, que la prescription était interrompue (ni l’ordonnance aux fins d’informer, ni l’arrêt de la Cour d’appel n’ont remis en cause la recevabilité de la plainte. De même, le prédécesseur du présent Procureur du Faso n’avait pas invoqué la prescription, mais l’article 34 du Code de Justice Militaire. Enfin, l’arrêt d’irrecevabilité de la Cour suprême ne concerne que l’absence de consignation et non pas la prescription.) . En second lieu, les avocats de la CIJS font valoir que l’arrêt de la Cour d’appel renvoyait les parties, à savoir la partie civile mais aussi le Parquet, à se pourvoir. Conformément à cet arrêt, les avocats de la CIJS expliquent ne pas pouvoir, aux termes des dispositions du Code de Justice Militaire, saisir directement le Ministre de la Défense (seul habilité à donner l’ordre de poursuite lors d’infraction relevant de la compétence des tribunaux militaires), et devant dès lors saisir le Procureur conformément à l’article 71 (3) du Code de Justice Militaire. Référence est, à nouveau faite de l’affaire Ministère public c. Kafando Marcel et al.

11 Communications N°24/1977 (S. Lovelace c. Canada); 1996/1985 (I. Gueye c. France); 516/1992 (J. Simunek et al. c. République tchèque) ; 520/1992 (E et A.K. c. Hongrie), et 566/1993 (Ivan Somers c. Hongrie).

12 Communication N°612/1995 (José Vicente et al. c. Colombie).

fr_FRFrançais
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

Chronology of relevant facts

A partial chronology of the campaign, derived from ICJS trials and relevant facts, is summarized as follows:

1987
1987-1997
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
2010
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2021

1 Complaint regarding the death certificate.

2 Or approximately 1,538 euros according to CIJS’ lawyers

3 It appears from the file that on October 8, 1997, the senior examining magistrate of the Tribunal de Grande Instance of Ouagadougou issued an order setting the amount of the civil party’s deposit at
to 1 million CFA francs.

4 The investigating judge considered that, in accordance with article 51 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the investigating court of the Tribunal de Grande Instance of Ouagadougou had jurisdiction with regard to the place of commission and the fact that the crime was not time-barred. ” [… Whereas in the present case, it has not been reported that the crime of assassination in question was committed in a military establishment; even if this were the case, it should be noted that the lawyers of the CIJS of this crime have remained unknown to this day; that it is moreover the reason why the complaint was formulated against “X”; that it follows that in the current stage it would be very random without having previously identified the lawyers of the CIJS, to conclude to their quality of military; that even admitting the military status of the author of the forgery in administrative writing, it should be noted that this second offence is subsidiarily linked to the first, which is the assassination, so that its existence depends on that of the first, which is the principal offence; that, moreover, it is a general principle of law that the accessory follows the principal [… It follows that the military status of the perpetrator of the forgery cannot legally justify the referral of the perpetrator(s) of the principal offence of murder to military jurisdiction….] ”   

5 […] it is no secret that the facts for which the complaint was filed took place on the evening of October 15, 1997 in the barracks of the Council of the Agreement. That is to say that these facts were committed not only in a military establishment, but also by persons who had the quality of military. In all points of view, it is not even a question of common law offence. As for the forgery referred to in the complaint, it is an accessory that follows the principal and whose fate is linked to the main action. For these reasons: Requests that the Indictment Division be pleased to declare the investigating judge incompetent pursuant to Article 34 of the Code of Military Justice […]”. Article 34 of the Code of Military Justice: “The military courts are competent to investigate and judge ordinary law offences committed by military personnel or assimilated persons in the service or in military establishments or at the guest’s home, as well as military offences provided for by the present code in accordance with the rules of procedure applicable before them […]”.

6 It is clear from the Supreme Court’s decision that the lawyers for the CIJS claimed before this court, on the one hand, that they had paid a deposit of one million francs on 9 October 1997 to the investigating judge when they filed their complaint, and on the other hand, that they had not paid the deposit of one million francs when they filed their complaint, not having paid the fine deposit to the Clerk of the Supreme Court insofar as the latter had omitted to read out the provisions of Article 110 of Ordinance No. 91-0051/PRES of 26 August 1991 on the composition, organization and functioning of the Supreme Court (“the applicant is required, under penalty of inadmissibility, to deposit before the expiry of the month following his declaration of appeal, the sum of five thousand francs as a fine deposit. The deposit of the fine shall be made either by payment into the hands of the Chief Clerk of the Supreme Court, or by a money order addressed to the latter. The clerk who receives the declaration of appeal must read out to the declarants the provisions of the two preceding paragraphs and mention this formality in the act.) The Supreme Court held that the deposits provided for in Article 85 of the Code of Criminal Procedure and Article 110 of the aforementioned ordinance were distinct and that payment of the deposit provided for in the first provision did not exempt the payment of the deposit provided for in the second provision. The Supreme Court also held that the failure of the clerk of the court to inform the plaintiffs of the obligation to pay a deposit was not legally subject to any procedural sanction, and that the lawyers of the CIJS could not be exempted from this obligation as a result of the omission thus noted. 

7 Arguing that judgment No. 14 of the Court of Appeal had become final due to judgment No. 46 of the Supreme Court, and that the ordinary courts therefore lacked jurisdiction, the lawyers of the CIJS, relying on article 71 (3) of the Code of Military Justice (Article 71: “If the offence is one that falls within the jurisdiction of the military courts, the Minister of Defence shall determine whether or not there are grounds for bringing the case before the military courts. No prosecution may take place, under penalty of nullity, except on the basis of a prosecution order issued by the Minister of Defense. Whenever the offence has been reported by a civil investigating judge, a public prosecutor or a public prosecutor, the Minister of Defence is obliged to issue the order for prosecution. The order of prosecution is final; it must mention exactly the facts to be prosecuted, qualify them and indicate the applicable laws”), asked the Public Prosecutor to denounce the criminal act to the Minister of Defense, who will then be required to issue the order of prosecution. The lawyers of the ICJS also recalled that on January 27, 2000, they had sent such a request, without success, to the Procureur du Faso. However, according to ICSJ’s lawyers, in a similar case (Case of the Public Prosecutor v. Marcel Kafando et al., subject of referral judgment N°005/TMO/CCI of 17 July 2000), the Prosecutor of Faso of the Tribunal de Grande Instance of Ouagadougou, had, by correspondence N°744/99, denounced to the Government Prosecutor at the Military Court facts qualified as crimes and misdemeanors that appeared to have been committed on the premises of the Conseil de l’Entente. Moreover, according to the lawyers of the CIJS, the Minister of Defense, after a preliminary investigation, had issued a prosecution order.

8 “It is all very well to always rely on the Sankara case, on this or that aspect of this case. But we must not forget that the justice system certainly has many files. The Minister of Defense is not there to deal with justice issues, he certainly has other concerns. But the fact remains that for all judicial matters, I can assure you that there will be no obstacles to a case following its course from beginning to end in our country. We have chosen the rule of law and we intend to fulfill our responsibilities in this regard.

9 See footnote 6 and para. 2.9.

10 Counsel for the ICJS argue, first, that the statute of limitations was interrupted (neither the order to inform nor the judgment of the Court of Appeal called into question the admissibility of the complaint. Similarly, the predecessor of the present Procureur du Faso had not invoked the statute of limitations, but article 34 of the Code of Military Justice. Finally, the Supreme Court’s ruling of inadmissibility concerns only the absence of a deposit and not the statute of limitations). Secondly, the lawyers of the CIJS argue that the judgment of the Court of Appeal referred the parties, namely the civil party but also the Public Prosecutor’s Office, to appeal. In accordance with this judgment, the lawyers of the CIJS explain that they cannot, under the provisions of the Code of Military Justice, refer the matter directly to the Minister of Defense (the only person authorized to give orders for the prosecution of offenses falling within the jurisdiction of military courts), and that they must therefore refer the matter to the Public Prosecutor in accordance with article 71 (3) of the Code of Military Justice. Reference is again made to the case of Ministère public v. Kafando Marcel et al.

11 Communications N°24/1977 (S. Lovelace v. Canada); 1996/1985 (I. Gueye v. France); 516/1992 (J. Simunek et al. v. Czech Republic); 520/1992 (E and A.K. v. Hungary), and 566/1993 (Ivan Somers v. Hungary).

12 Communication N°612/1995 (José Vicente et al. v. Colombia).

en_USEnglish
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap